Martín Vivaldi Award

Martín Vivaldi Award

Martín Vivaldi Award

150 150 Sociedad Española de Arcillas

The Martín-Vivaldi Award offers the winner financial assistance to attend EUROCLAY, one of the most important scientific meetings on Clay Minerals. Next Euroclay will be held in Bari, Italy, 24-27 July, 2023.

The closing date for reception of manuscripts will be on 14th April 2023.

Martin Vivaldi Profile


The Martín Vivaldi Award is an International award, sponsored by the European Clay Groups Association (ECGA) and financially supported by the Sociedad Española de Arcillas – SEA (Spanish Clay Society), to offer the recipient financial assistance, with the aim of enabling him/her to participate in a EUROCLAY Meeting for the purpose of presenting his/her paper.


  1. Candidates must fill in the Application form and submit it together with an electronic copy, preferably a pdf file, of approximately 4000 words in English on a topic relevant to one of the sessions of the Meeting. The paper should be written in a format acceptable for international journals. Assessment will be on scientific content only and the winner will be expected to present his/her paper at the Meeting.
  2. The award consists of a honorarium of 1.000 Euros to contribute to the recipient to cover the expenses of the registration fee to the Meeting, travel and hotel expenses for attending the Euroclay Meeting, and a certificate. The award will not be made if it is considered that candidates do not reach the required standard.
  3. Person eligible for the award must be under 35 years of age on the closing date for submissions. No restriction is placed on the sex or nationality of the candidate
  4. The award is incompatible with any other prize for the same paper. Therefore, the candidate declares that the content of the manuscript is original and has not been submitted and, in case of winning, will not be submitted, as candidate to any other prize.
  5. The selection committee shall consist of the President of ECGA (Chair), three members nominated by the SEA, and the President of the Spanish Clay Society, who will act as Secretary.
  6. The attached form must be completed and returned to the secretary of the SEA ( with copy to the general address of the Spanish Clay Society ( with each entry to arrive before the official closing date. The candidates must note that the deadline will be strictly observed.
  7. The winning paper could be submitted for publication in a clay mineralogy journal.


Prize winners

  • 2003: Tomás Undabeytia (Instituto de Recursos Naturales de Sevilla, CSIC)
  • 2007: Sadok Letaïef (University of Ottawa, Canada)
  • 2011: No award
  • 2015: Bernd Wicklein (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC)
  • 2019: Ediana Paula Rebitski (Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Madrid, CSIC).